OREGON SEX CRIMES GUIDE

OREGON SEXUAL ABUSE LAWS



David N Lesh
Oregon Sexual Abuse Defense Attorney
Oregon Super Lawyer 2018 and 2019

Call today to speak with Mr. Lesh about your case 
(503) 546-2928
Photo of attorney David Lesh

 

WHAT IS SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE THIRD DEGREE IN OREGON? 

ORS 163.415 Sexual abuse in the third degree (Sex Abuse 3).

  (1) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the third degree if:

   (a) The person subjects another person to sexual contact and:

   (A) The victim does not consent to the sexual contact; or

   (B) The victim is incapable of consent by reason of being under 18 years of age; or

   (b) For the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the person or another person, the person intentionally propels any dangerous substance at a victim without the consent of the victim.

   (2) Sexual abuse in the third degree is a Class A misdemeanor.

   (3) As used in this section, “dangerous substance” means blood, urine, semen or feces. [1971 c.743 §115; 1979 c.489 §1; 1991 c.830 §1; 1995 c.657 §11; 1995 c.671 §9; 2009 c.616 §1]

WHAT IS SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE SECOND DEGREE IN OREGON? 

   ORS 163.425 Sexual abuse in the second degree (Sex Abuse 2).

  (1) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the second degree when:

   (a) The person subjects another person to sexual intercourse, deviate sexual intercourse or, except as provided in ORS 163.412, penetration of the vagina, anus or penis with any object other than the penis or mouth of the actor and the victim does not consent thereto; or

   (b)(A) The person violates ORS 163.415 (1)(a)(B);

   (B) The person is 21 years of age or older; and

   (C) At any time before the commission of the offense, the person was the victim’s coach as defined in ORS 163.426.

   (2) Sexual abuse in the second degree is a Class C felony. [1971 c.743 §116; 1983 c.564 §1; 1991 c.386 §14; 1991 c.830 §2; 2009 c.876 §2]

   ORS 163.426 Crime category classification for sexual abuse in the second degree.

  (1) As used in this section, “coach” means a person who instructs or trains an individual or members of a team in a sport.

   (2) The Oregon Criminal Justice Commission shall classify sexual abuse in the second degree as described in ORS 163.425 (1)(a) as a crime category 8 of the sentencing guidelines grid of the commission if:

   (a) The victim is incapable of consent by reason of being under 18 years of age;

   (b) The offender is 21 years of age or older; and

   (c) At any time before the commission of the offense, the offender was the victim’s coach. [2009 c.876 §1]

WHAT IS SEXUAL ABUSE IN THE FIRST DEGREE IN OREGON? 

   ORS 163.427 Sexual abuse in the first degree (Sex Abuse 1).

  (1) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the first degree when that person:

   (a) Subjects another person to sexual contact and:

   (A) The victim is less than 14 years of age;

   (B) The victim is subjected to forcible compulsion by the actor; or

   (C) The victim is incapable of consent by reason of being mentally defective, mentally incapacitated or physically helpless; or

   (b) Intentionally causes a person under 18 years of age to touch or contact the mouth, anus or sex organs of an animal for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of a person.

   (2) Sexual abuse in the first degree is a Class B felony. [1991 c.830 §3; 1995 c.657 §12; 1995 c.671 §10]


These crimes generally requires registration as a  sex offender in Oregon.  Sex Abuse I and III involve touching while Sex Abuse II involves intercourse or oral sex.  Sex abuse in the first degree is a Ballot Measure 11 offense.



"I defend and help people facing sex charges in the Portland metro area. 
Call me today at 503.546.2928 for immediate assistance with your sex abuse case."

Twenty nine years as an Oregon attorney
Former Multnomah County prosecutor
Former deputy city attorney assigned to the Portland Police Bureau

2018 and 2019 Oregon Super Lawyer
Highly Rated


"Should you hire me to represent you, I will be your lawyer and point of contact.
I don't use-low level associates, paralegals, legal assistants, or case managers.
I personally respond to your phone calls and emails; I meet with you; I appear with you in court."



Websites, including this one, provide general information but do not provide legal advice or create a lawyer / client relationship.  Consult qualified Oregon assault lawyers / attorneys for advice about any specific charge that you face.  Oregon defense lawyers are governed by the Oregon Code of Professional Responsibility.  This website may be considered an advertisement for services under the Code of Professional Responsibility.  Information contained in this website is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed or warranted in any way.  By David N Lesh, info@davidlesh.net.   All reviews and testimonials on this site are real and were unsolicited. 

Rated 4.9 / 5 based on 16 reviews

Reviews of attorney David Lesh

David Lesh provides Oregon criminal defense assistance to the communities of:  Portland Ore., Portland OR, NW Northwest, SW Southwest, SE Southeast, NE Northeast, and N North; Gresham; Beaverton; Hillsboro; Lake Oswego; McMinnville; Oregon City; Tualatin; West Linn; Milwaukie; Wilsonville; Troutdale; and Multnomah County; Clackamas Counties.  Read our privacy statement.  Mr. Lesh accepts American Express, Discover, Visa and MasterCard credit cards / card.  Copyright 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007.