Call David Lesh today at 503.546.2928 if you need an experienced attorney to assist you with an Oregon arson or reckless burning charge.

Former prosecutor dedicated to criminal defense.
More than 24 years as an Oregon attorney.
Call today for a no cost consultation.
(503) 546-2928

THE OREGON CRIMINAL LAW GUIDE

MAIN PAGE OREGON ARSON LAWYER OREGON BURGLARY LAW OREGON CRIMINAL MISCHIEF LAW
"I defend people facing arson and reckless burning charges in the State of Oregon."

OREGON ARSON AND RECKLESS BURNING LAWS

   ORS 164.315 Arson in the second degree (Sometimes called Arson 2). (1) A person commits the crime of arson in the second degree if:

   (a) By starting a fire or causing an explosion, the person intentionally damages:

   (A) Any building of another that is not protected property; or

   (B) Any property of another and the damages to the property exceed $750; or

   (b) By knowingly engaging in the manufacture of methamphetamine, the person causes fire or causes an explosion that damages property described in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

   (2) Arson in the second degree is a Class C felony. [1971 c.743 §143; 2001 c.432 §1; 2005 c.706 §3]

   ORS 164.325 Arson in the first degree (Sometimes called Arson 1). (1) A person commits the crime of arson in the first degree if:

   (a) By starting a fire or causing an explosion, the person intentionally damages:

   (A) Protected property of another;

   (B) Any property, whether the property of the person or the property of another person, and such act recklessly places another person in danger of physical injury or protected property of another in danger of damage; or

   (C) Any property, whether the property of the person or the property of another person, and recklessly causes serious physical injury to a firefighter or peace officer acting in the line of duty relating to the fire; or

   (b) By knowingly engaging in the manufacture of methamphetamine, the person causes fire or causes an explosion that damages property described in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

     (2) Arson in the first degree is a Class A felony. [1971 c.743 §144; 1991 c.946 §1; 2005 c.706 §4]

ORS 164.335 Reckless burning. (1) A person commits the crime of reckless burning if the person recklessly damages property of another by fire or explosion.

   (2) Reckless burning is a Class A misdemeanor. [1971 c.743 §142]


David N Lesh
Oregon Arson Lawyer
No cost initial consultation



503.546.2928
434 NW 19th Avenue
Portland, OR  97209


TIP:  Reckless burning is a misdemeanor; both arson crimes are felonies.


 

David Lesh Mini Biography

Oregon attorney since 1990;

Former prosecutor (5 years);

Former lawyer to the Portland Police Bureau (3+ years);

Sought after criminal defense attorney (11+ years)